clean my macbook

Reaction score
hi, i am newbie here so nice to meet u all.
I am using Macbook Pro. i got a problem with the memory free space. I suddenly realise that my memory fall down and I think it because I am trying to bootcamp window into my mac.

When installation window XP it failed and now it stuck the memory space inside bootcamp. did anyone know how to solve this problem ? it will be a great help for me. note: when every time I am going to bootcamp it tell me to put window installation.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Boot your MBP back to OS X. Open the Boot Camp Assistant, and select create partition. Now select "restore". You'll receive a warning that everything on the Windows partition will be destroyed. Select OK. The space will be returned to your disk and the Windows partition will be removed.

OP
D
Reaction score
hi chscag, the thing make me confuse is when i want to restore. The first thing show in the boot camp assistant is the introduction and after i click on continue, it show Download windows support software. it got two optional.

1. Download the Window support software for this Mac.
2. I have already downloaded the Windows support software to a CD, DVD, or external disk.

either of the alternative i am chooses it show not enough free space ( at least 10GB) but my memory still have 26GB free space.

Note: before that i failed to installation window on it and cause turn off the power while process.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
OK, I understand what's going on. The Boot Camp Assistant is telling you that you do not have enough free continuos space to create the partition. Even though the hard drive has enough space, it's not continuos. In other words, the free space is fragmented.