iMac monitor color calibration: third party worth it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5, iPhone 6, iPad Air 2, 4th gen Apple TV
I've been doing some looking around at monitor color calibration tools for my new iMac and looking at reviews for a few like Colormunki, Spyder Pro and Eye One.

While reading reviews on Amazon for Spyder I saw one reviewer say this:

I wouldn't buy it again. It did not produce profiles for me that were nearly as good as those I can create manually with Apple's manual display calibration system in Advanced mode.

To be fair, I think this says more about how good Apple's system is than about this particular unit.

I'm not familiar with Apple's manual display calibration, but I wouldn't mind using it and saving $100-200 if it can get me pretty accurate results for an amateur like me. (I'm no pro photographer)

If anyone is familiar with this can could explain/recommend it, I would appreciate it. If you like/use a particular calibration tool, I'd like to hear what you think of it.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
'11 15.4, 2.2, 8gb MBP - '11 15.4, 2.0, 8gb MBP, 2x4gb Gen1 Nano, 8gb Gen3 Nano,
I don't use an I-Mac but I do produce color critical work.

If you want quality color and the ability to repeat the calibration process with a decent degree of accuracy you can't rely on your eyeballs. That's what the Apple system uses...your eyeballs and not a dedicated instrument reading color patches.

All the tools you listed above are good ones. I've not used a Spyder for many years but it gets good reviews. I currently use a Color Munki with a NEC 2690 and NEC Spectraview software. Best color I've ever had bar none.

Reaction score
I have a 27" iMac and have had other monitors before. I wouldn't consider using any without getting them calibrated.