Windows 7 slows down Mac?

Reaction score
I own an early 2011 Macbook pro. The reason I bought it is because I wanted to play the withcer 1 & 2 and Diablo 2 & 3. Those were the 4 games that I plan to play on it. The witcher is A windows only game so I was going to install windows 7. But then I read on this forum that it slowed peoples computers down a lot.

Does anyone know if this is true & if I'm going to have trouble running the witcher and witcher 2 on my mac using windows through bootcamp?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

Windows 7 will run just as fast on your Mac as it would on any qualified PC. No slowdowns. I don't know where you read that in these forums, but there are always folks who will comment to the negative. Take it with a grain of salt and see for yourself. As for the games you mentioned, I have no experience with them. Perhaps someone else will chime in give you an answer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 13-inch Mid 2007 | 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo | 3GB Ram | 250GB Hard Drive | 2nd Hard Drive 80GB
Yeah my Win7 runs just fine on my Mac.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
You don't run Windows through Bootcamp. Bootcamp is an installer and drivers. Once it's installed, Windows boots native just like on the same PC hardware.

Reaction score
no, but if you have a old macbook or anything. xp is better than win7. xp is the best os that has ever been made.

if it is for gaming, windows xp is way better than win7. win7 sucks.

Reaction score
I run Windows 7 with VMware Fusion on my MacBook Pro with OSX. I run both Win7 and OSX simultaneously...FAST. I love it

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
XP the best ever made?