Producing Hip Hop on MacBook

Reaction score
Hey I am brand new to mac, and i have been trying to make some hip hop beats. Right now i am just using garageband and the preset instruments on there, and it isnt really what im looking for. i want to be able to use sounds that sound more like hip hop. im not looking for loops to just put into my tracks, i actually want like a virtual/software instrument i can use. are there any free hip hop virtual instruments i can use?

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
I would look into Logic Express/Pro. It includes 13 (I believe) synths/samplers that are much more versatile than the garageband ones.

in particular Ultrabeat is a great Drum sequencer/sampler. you can get some really great hip hop sounds out of the default patches,and you can even branch out into incorporating your own samples if you feel experimental enough.

for free plug ins, check out the KVR plug in data base:

KVR: Audio Plug-in Database (Search) - VST, Audio Units, RTAS, DirectX, LADSPA, DSSI

garageband uses AU instruments. you install them into macintosh HD - Library - Audio - Plug ins - Components (if there is no installer.)

OP
M
Reaction score
Ahh thanks. I know logic is like 500 bucks, which is out of my budget, im broke sense I bought the laptop itself but is ultrabeat free?

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
nope, only comes as part of logic. hip hop producers usually use their own samples anyway, you don't need a drum sequencer to do it.
I just think it would be easier if you are learning.

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I said "use".

Essentially, they use little audio snapshots of the individual elements of each part of the drum (kick, snare and so on) and arrange it into a drum loop.

OP
M
Reaction score