Does the finder in OS 10.6.6 have advanced search?

Reaction score
I am a web designer and have multiples of the same image (which may be in a logo file as well as files for every website I have designed). I have a lot of difficulty finding things efficiently using the finder. Is there an advanced search or way to refine my searches? Maybe something like having options such as: find only files with this title, date when created (last month, etc.), size.

Or it would be helpful if there is a way to know the size of an image without having to right-click and get info.

The finder gives a list of files, but not the size.

This inefficiency keeps me from making the Mac my main computer. Windows has these advanced search options; is it somewhere on the Mac and I just don't know it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
As for the size issue, change the view type to "List" instead of column or icons. You can change this by opening a finder window then going to View > List or keyboard shortcut "cmd+2".

As for advanced searches you can use Spotlight in the top right corner or keyboard shortcut "cmd+space", or you can open a finder window and use keyboard shortcut "cmd+f" then change the settings within the window to extend your search into a certain criteria.

Hope this helps

- Simon

Reaction score
You can search for almost anything with Finder. I had to select "Other" to get filesize, but there are a lot of criteria in the dropdown menu.

Attachments

• Searching “This Mac”.jpg
    Searching “This Mac”.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 7
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
OR