CD/DVD drive not accepting disk, just sits in slot, please help

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Ok, I am fairly new at all things Mac. It's been fun but also challenging to find a solution. SO, please, I'm hoping someone, anyone, can help me out because I have been trying to read up on anything to help with my computer problem!

I have an iMac, version 10.5.8. My problem is with the optical disk drive.

When I try to insert a disk into the slot, the disk just ends up sitting in the slot. The disk won't go in, and when I try to push it in it just continues sitting in the slot. I've assumed a disk is stuck already but I have tried the tips I've found online for ejecting a disk but nothing has worked. I've fiddled with paper clips, credit cards but while it may seem like there is a CD stuck, I am pretty sure there is not one in there. In addition, there is no noise or other sign that comes on from a disk loading at all.

Whenever I try to open DVD player it comes up with an error: "A valid DVD drive could not be found. [-70012]"

Another advice I tried to follow was to re-start my computer and press: Command+O key+F key (to type in certain commands), however when I do this it just goes straight to the login screen. Plus, my computer takes a long time to load too and I'm not too sure why as I have hardly used this computer for the 1 1/2 years I've had it.

Now I'm not sure if my optical drive is affecting the speed on my computer. And vice versa, or because I bought it refurbished it was bad luck to begin with? (I don't know) :\ Anyways now I'm getting negative, but I would be much appreciative if anyone can give me suggestions on what else I can do.

No Applecare, and I'm a student so money is tight. THANKS IN ADVANCE :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
Welcome to Mac-Forums :D

Is the DVD drive listed in System Profiler? ( Apple Menu > About This Mac > More Info... )

- Simon

OP
S