New, and have some really NEWBIE questions

Reaction score
I just bought my first MAC, - I got the G5, but i'm having a problem downloading software - I downloaded AIM ok, but i'm trying to download some freeware for my iPod, and I can't seem to open it - the downloading box appears, and looks like it's finished - then the icon is on my desktop, I then drag that into the "Applications" area - but it doesn't do anything - I have the icon, AND a .dmg file...

i'm so long!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13" | MacBook Pro 13" | Mac Mini 2GHz C2D
you need to open the .dmg file and then drag the contents in to the application folder.

OP
N
Reaction score
fearlessfreap24 said:
you need to open the .dmg file and then drag the contents in to the application folder.

another stupid question (I've never done this before) how do I open it - I have the .dmg file sitting in the applications folder...but I can't seem to do anything with it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
NewtoMac said:
another stupid question (I've never done this before) how do I open it - I have the .dmg file sitting in the applications folder...but I can't seem to do anything with it.
Just double click on it and then it should mount on your Desktop. It will look like a white hard disk type icon. When you double click on that icon, it will open in a Finder window and you should see your application. Then you can drag that application to the Applications folder.

OP
N
Reaction score
ok, I have the white icon on my desktop - it's "PodUtil" incase that helps you...*It's an iPod applicaton*

if I click on it - I get this pop up that says "drag to applications folder" - EVERY time - I opened the folder manually, but I keep getting the same message..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
NewtoMac said:
ok, I have the white icon on my desktop - it's "PodUtil" incase that helps you...*It's an iPod applicaton*