x264(mkv) GPU playback on new MBA 13?

Reaction score
I have a new MBA 13 on loan. When I play a 720p MKV x264 file the CPU runs at 40-50% all the time using VLC.

Is there any way to use GPU accelleration for playback so that it lowers CPU use?

I tried playing a 1080p Quicktime trailer and that seemed to use less CPU?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
I don't believe VLC uses hardware accelaration (Windows version does. Apple hardware APIs are available but it's not been added to VLC for Mac yet). That's why you're seeing higher use in that over Quicktime.

Does the CPU usage matter? If it's a battery life issue I doubt there's much in it between GPU and CPU power consumption

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
I have a new MBA 13 on loan. When I play a 720p MKV x264 file the CPU runs at 40-50% all the time using VLC.

Is there any way to use GPU accelleration for playback so that it lowers CPU use?

I tried playing a 1080p Quicktime trailer and that seemed to use less CPU?

I just tried an x264-encoded video on my iMac, first in Quicktime in its m4v container, then in VLC in an mkv container, and the cpu load was identical, running under 8% typically, spiking around 12% rarely. So something is off with either your videos or your software. Do you have the latest version of VLC? Are you SURE that the video encoding is x264 rather than VC-1? You may want to try MPlayer X as an alternative (free on the Mac App Store), or Lunettes, an ongoing effort to modernize and optimize VLC for OS X.

OP
T
Reaction score
What CPU does your iMac have? When I play on my iMac i7 the CPU load is very small, but that CPU is also WAY faster than the C2D in the Air. I will do some further testing i guess...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs