MS Word for Mac Problem: Footnotes

Reaction score
Hello, I am new here. I hope I have posted this question to the correct area.

I have been using MS Word for Mac for about 4 years. I have experienced several "bugs" in it and have noticed formatting issues with it. When I reported this to our local Mac store, they said they had never heard any complaints about this version of Word.

I am working on a book and am using footnotes. Up until the last few days I have not experienced problems with footnotes. Normally, when placing footnotes Word automatically places them at the bottom of the page. It has begun placing footnotes that should go at the bottom of the page on the next page.

I have 4 footnotes on one page, and it continues to place footnote #4 at the bottom of the next page, in front of footnote #5. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening and how it can be fixed? I have tried everything I can think of.

Any help is appreciated. If anyone has experienced this problem, please let me know how you fixed it.

Thanks!

Angela

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

Your post was moved to the correct forum as it does not belong in "Running Windows......."

As for your question: Which version of MS Word for the Mac are you using?

Normally, footnotes are placed in order and should fit on one page provided there is enough room below the margins. Have you tried to reduce the top-bottom margins on the particular page where you have 4 footnotes to place?

Something that might help is to turn on the margin boundary lines so you can see how much space remains.

OP
I
Reaction score
Hi,

Thanks for moving this to where it belongs.

I am using MS Word for Mac 2008.