New hard drive installation, but grey screen...

Reaction score
Hello all Mac geniuses! I have my brothers Mac Book which he has gone and purchased a 250GB hard drive for. The old hard drive had a problem and was disposed of. He has given it to me to ‘sort out’, but I hate to say it, but I am a PC noob and I know nothing about Macs.
Here’s what happens…
I’ve installed the hard drive. Then I power it up, I get the Mac sound with the grey screen, then after about 30 secs I get the folder with a question mark inside flashing at me. I have seen that you can hold down ‘C’ whilst booting up (with the Mac OSX disc in), but I just get the Apple logo with the spinning cog underneath, then it just shuts down??!!
Do I need to partition/format the hard drive first? I have no clue on what to do to sort out this MacBook!:\
If someone could help, I’d be eternally greatful!
Regards, Steve.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Sounds like you need to format the hard drive:

- boot from the Mac OS install DVD
- go up to the top of the screen...and you should get some drop-down menu's
- open "Disk Utility"
- format the HD with "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)"
- then quit Disk Utility
- proceed with OS install

HTH,

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
And to boot from the OS X disc, pop it in, reboot and immediately after the chime hold down the 'C' key. You do have his install discs?

OP
W
Reaction score
Booting from discs...

Many thanks to you all for replying!
I have put in the original OSX disc and have already held down the 'C' key whilst powering it up. Do I need to wait for the chime first?