best practices/applications for speeding up/cleaning up my macbook?

Reaction score

I have a macbook Pro (not the newest version) running os 10.5.8]
I am a graphic/interface designer so I mostly run Adobe creative suite, browse the internet a lot, download a lot. I don't store a huge amount of rich media on my mac (intentionally, unsure if temporary internet files or similar store these..) but do have quite a lot of music.

I have 43.99 GB of remaining 'space' on my mac.
my mac is starting to run slower, im starting to notice - it takes a good 5 minutes now to load photoshop. Ive cleared up a lot of the stuff I was visibly storing (folders/files within my user directory really, applications id installed, etc) and i delete my trash and browsing history.
i also have vmware installed, running windows on a partition, but ive had it that way for a long time without recent slowing. i do the same running vmware; delete the trash and browsing history, use add/remove programs in my windows control panel to ensure no unnecessary programs stay.
but am wondering if i can do anything else to help?? i remember with my pc i had a disk cleanup sort of program.
i did find MacKeeper.. but don't know enough about how Mac operating systems work etc to know what the usual methods of 'refreshing' and speeding up a mac a bit, or the best application to get. im also wondering where abouts files get stored without my knowledge so i can go and delete those, and also contemplating whether wiping iPhoto would help..

OP
B
Reaction score
well ok not 5 whole minutes. but.. noticeably long.. and it does crash.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.

I have a macbook Pro (not the newest version) running os 10.5.8]