macbook help

Reaction score
Hello,

My girl has gone away for a few weeks and left me her old macbook, ive been trying to clean it up for her and i have very little knowledge of a mac. most of my life has sadly been spent on windows. her hd is pretty full so ive been trying to go through the applications and other files to see what is need and what she would like to keep. any suggestions?

also what is the prisim app?
and what is .dmg?
and what is the Macentosh HD that is yellow?
shes got an x through her battery icon, does this mean she needs a new one, it appears to not hold a charge.

all help would be appreciated

it says shes running mac osx 10.4.11 if it helps anyone

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP 13 2.5GHz 121GB SSD
I sense a disaster looming... My advice is wait until she gets back at least.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Hello,

My girl has gone away for a few weeks and left me her old macbook, ive been trying to clean it up for her and i have very little knowledge of a mac. most of my life has sadly been spent on windows. her hd is pretty full so ive been trying to go through the applications and other files to see what is need and what she would like to keep. any suggestions?

also what is the prisim app?
and what is .dmg?
and what is the Macentosh HD that is yellow?
shes got an x through her battery icon, does this mean she needs a new one, it appears to not hold a charge.

all help would be appreciated

it says shes running mac osx 10.4.11 if it helps anyone

It's nice that you care. However I would not mess with other peoples' computers especially when you don't have their consent to delete stuff. Especially when you don't know what they are.

Even if you did have her permission I wouldn't mess with her computer. You are right about the battery though.

The Yellow HDs is probably her external HD.