Need buying advice on 12" Powerbook G4/iBook G4

Reaction score
I'm currently trying to find a decent used 12" Powerbook G4 for basic computing needs. I'm a pretty light user--Internet surfing (mostly Apartment Therapy/news sites, which can be image heavy), word processing, iTunes, some Youtube/Hulu, and downloading music/video. I'm an uber-broke grad student so I'm looking to keep cost below $300 (though cheaper is even better).

Thus I'm thinking a Powerbook G4 is my best bet. I've found a few eBay auctions that look promising and wanted to ask for advice on them. Do they look like good deals? Or should I hold out for something else or even look at an iBook G4?

Apple PowerBook G4 12" 1Ghz/768 RAM/120GB HD/Combo | eBay

Apple PowerBook 12" 1.33GHz 60GB DVD Airport Extreme | eBay

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I would say that both are pretty good deals (for e-Bay). Sometimes you can get lucky and get a better deal on your local Craig's List. But under $200 for either one I consider to be fair.

I would prefer the 2nd one (the 1.33ghz model)...but it seems to have a broken CD/DVD drive...so this could be an issue. The 1st one is good as well. It does have a slower cpu (1.0ghz)...but the CD/DVD drive seems to work.

Your choice of course.:)

Good luck,

- Nick

OP
O
Reaction score
Thanks for the quick reply!

I know the 2nd one has a broken dvd combo drive, but I assume that won't be too much of a problem. I never use the combo drive on computers- I tend to stick with the pre-installed OS and never buy new software. Plus there's always the handy IFixIt if I do decide to repair it at some point.

I also looked on Mac2Sell and was quoted $120 for the 2nd Powerbook. So should I try to find more deals around that range?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13inch 2.3 i5 MBP 64gb SSD 320gb HD 8gb 1333
I would try to find a cheap macbook or a netbook of some kind before going with a 12inch powerbook.