Mac and Printer!

Reaction score
I have been having so much trouble with my MacBook Pro and HP Officejet Pro 8500A Plus printer. When I first bought this I made sure it was compatible with the mac, so I should have no trouble with printing. I have always been printing wirelessly because I never found a way to connect it using a USB cable.. It prints fine except it won't print in colour. This is a big problem as I'm an art student and this is essential for school! The printer prints colour if I use other laptops so I'm guessing the problem is my mac.. What should I do? I need immediate help!

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Did you check your print settings? If you have it set to draft mode, or some kind of ink-saver mode, it might not print in color. Also make sure you're not set to print in grayscale. The print settings will look similar to this:

2011-04-18_1454.png

OP
M
Reaction score
I've searched my print settings and I can't find anything which says grayscale or black and white or colour. Here's what my print settings looks like:

Screen shot 2011-04-19 at 12.52.05 PM.png

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Try clicking on some of those drop down menus to check all your settings.
Each menu selection will have different and varied options available.

Start off with the one that says Copies and Pages.

But also check the varied options in Standard.

And the one that says Page Setup.

Almost every printer is a little bit different in the layout - you're going to need to learn your printer settings by doing some exploring through all the options you have.

OP
M
Reaction score