Car FM Transmitter

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 13" Unibody, 2.4ghz, 2gb Ram, 250GB HD
Hey all, I have been looking for a FM Transmitter to use in my car with my iPhone 4. I have tried several ones and I have not been able to find one with decent quality. The ones I have tried are always full of static and you have to maneuver the phone in some strange way so they half-work. I have been using a corded one for the past 5 years and it just broke making me a very sad panda. I don't have an AUX input in my car stereo but something that plugs into the lighter thingy would be good. I have also read about some bluetooth receivers but they can get pricey too. Anyone suggestions on good transmitters? Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
I think a lot depends on your area. I have a Griffin iTrip (the auto tune model), which works fine, but you will always get a little static, and sometimes a lot, because FM bandwidth is so packed with signals. Does your car stereo have a tape deck?
The tape based systems work ok .

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
What kind of vehicle is it? (Make, model and year would be helpful). FM modulators pretty much all suck. If your vehicle was made in the last 10-15 years, chances are it has some kind of input at the rear of the stereo (usually for a satellite radio or a CD changer). In many cases, you can get a hard-wire adapter that allows you to control the iPod from the factory stereo and safely hide the iPod out of sight, and also charge it.

I've purchased iPod integration systems for my last few vehicles, and they're usually well worth the money (about $100) and fairly easy to install - but they are vehicle-specific and you will have varying degrees of success based on the options afforded by your factory stereo.