Mid-2010 MacBook Pro unacceptably slow!

Reaction score
Hello fellow Mac users,

I'm having a little trouble with my MacBook Pro (the Mid-2010 version, as you might have guessed from the title). This is my first Mac, but as I am a Developer, I had little trouble switching, and knowing my way around Linux helped there.

I got this beauty in Nov 2010, and since then I've been playing around a lot, installing software I need for my work, tweaking OS X (mainly visual customization like dock, icons, ...).

What bugged me a lot was NTFS incompatibility, so I went ahead and fiddled with that. There are some great and easy to use tools and drivers and whatnot, so I installed and tinkered until I got it to work, and I could use my external NTFS-formatted harddrives. I noticed, however, that from the moment I installed this software (I cannot for the life of my recall the name, will google after posting) my system was slow. And I mean sloooow. As soon as anything was going on that used the harddrive, like moving/copying files, unzipping, installing software, games loading, just anything related to a HDD read/write ... I was basically incapacitated.

Edit 1: Googled the NTFS thing, and I'm pretty sure it was MacFuse.

I then uninstalled the NTFS drivers/tools/whatever, and after that it was somewhat better, but still unbearable for someone like me (I'm a web developer, working for a advertising agency, and we have a lot of clients with a lot of data to be managed). Starting up Photoshop and Coda simultaneously would result in a 5-minute-freeze (don't get me started on loading 2GB-files into PS), and to be blunt, that sucks.