why is the FBI monitoring me?

P

psychlik

hi, all
i'm a new ibook user and new airport user. i live in suburban new jersey and am a doctor. now, i mention this just to give a little perspective. when i hit the airport icon on the taskbar, the list of networks drops down. on it is my ususal home network, selected with the check next to it. under this, however, is another network called "FBI_Monitor". when i click on it i am asked for a WEP password. now, needless to say, i am worried about this. i'm very new to wireless internet and unsure if this is some malicious hack due to some lack of security i don't know about; or, if the FBI really is monitoring me (neither is a pleasant thought!). any thoughts about this will be greatly appreciated. thanks............................................................................

Reaction score
Sounds like someone has named their wireless network FBI-monitor for a joke.

Maybe they were trying to freak someone out, and it seems to have paid off. :eek:neye:

OP
S

sursuciofla

It's probably someone else's network in your neighborhood. In highly populated suburban areas (especially subdivisions), you can pick up other people's networks since homes are so close together and more and more homes are set up on networks. I highly doubt the FBI is watching you unless you have given them a reason to, hehe. It's probably just your neighbors network name and it has a WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy) password to be able to connect to the network. As for me I am in the mountains so I don't pick up anybody elses network. I have picked up others at my relatives house though when I am in the city.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
lol that is exactly what is was... no need to worry nobody is watching you and if the FBI really was, they wouldn't let you know.

OP
B

badmojo