• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Mac-Friendly Camcorders

Reaction score
This has probably been posted here numerous times before, but most of the stuff I can find it from the mid 2000's!

I am new to iMovie, but not to Macs, and I am looking to buy a camcorder. I want it for shooting fairly basic stuff to start with, so I guess I'm looking to spend under £300 if possible. If I enjoy it, perhaps I'll invest more money in the future.

Basically the advice I'm after is what camcorders are best in terms of their compatability with Macs and iMovie. I have visited the Apple website for iMovie '11, but there are just so many cameras there I don't know where to start. I also don't know what some of the additional notes mean. Should I go for mini-DV or tapeless recording? Firewire or USB?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey