Home directory and filevault

J

Joolz34

Hi, couple more newb questions, but I would be grateful if someone could clear things up for me.

My new PB should arrive in around 2 weeks, and Ive ordered it from the local supplier here in Prague, without installation (it works out cheaper), Im not worried about installing it as Im a computer tech and have installed computers for years now, but I do have a couple of questions.

Is it a good idea to put your home directory on its own partition? Im mainly thinking now for backups, and to keep things "tidy" (I know about archive and install btw for future installations). Or does it not really matter?

I understand that you can use filevault on your home directory, but if the home directory was a whole partition, would this cause any issue? Or is it again a moot point?

Would you recommend when I install the PB for the first time, just leaving the HDD as one drive (no partitions) and letting the home directory grow as needed? (With weekly maintenance).

Obviously from my questions and that Im posting here you can guess Im coming from a windows / linux environment, where putting data you dont want to lose on a separate partition is usually a good idea. Id like to hear your suggestions / recommendations though.

If any of you also happened to have a nice link to a fresh installation of tiger, with a couple of screenshots included, that would be great. Id like to just run through the installation process before my PB gets here.

Btw I dont know if it plays any part, but the hdd will be the 100GB model, so I dont know for sure if this needs to be factored in when considering partitioning or not.

Many thanks in advance.

Joolz34

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.