What is xml parsing error and how do I fix it?

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a pretty desperate here. I am trying to import a XML file from a Easy Grade Pro software (I am a teacher), so I can manipulate it in Excel. Every time I try to open it I get the "Strict Parse Error" and then on the bottom it says errors are listen in. Mac Hardrive;private;var;folders;mr.mrPg6rnGEp083t43cEFkc++++TI:TemporaryItems:htmlErr.log

Tried to find this but couldn't. I have ton of things I need to import and this error is stopping it from happening.

How do I fix it?

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
To get to the log, open up Finder, press Command-Shift-G and enter /private/var/folders/mr.mrPg6rnGEp083t43cE Fkc++++TI/TemporaryItems. The reason you can't find it otherwise is because that directory is hidden by default.

I'm not familiar with the software but if you post the contents of that log file, we may be able to figure out what the issue is.

OP
D
Reaction score
O.k. found the file

XML PARSE ERROR: Null or missing attribute value
Error occurs at or below this element stack:
(Stack is empty--error occurs at or below top-level element.)

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Hmmm, not a very helpful error message...

I was just browsing their website and noticed that they have a Mac version of the software. Is it possible to get a copy of that through the school/board and use that insted of using Excel? There's also a web based version.

OP
D
Reaction score