What type of RAM - MBP?

Reaction score
I'm very new to the Mac world (loving it so far!) and I'm curious... does any RAM work with the Macbook Pro (13 inch, 2011)? Meaning, if I get rid of my desktop PC, which I'm considering, can I remove the RAM in there and add it to my MBP? How easy would it be; are there instructions online?

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Note: Moved post to it's own thread. Was not relevant to thread it was posted in.

Probably not. Short on time here, but someone will come along to guide you on the way I'm sure.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Currently 13" Late 2010 MBA, 4GB/128GB; Early 2011 13" MBP, dual core i7 2.7ghz, 4gb ram, 500gb hd
Desktop RAM will most likely not work in a portable. Chips for desktop systems are usually twice as long as chips for portables. My best suggestion for RAM is to check out OtherWorld Computing (macsales.com) and they can assist you in selecting the right RAM for your system. RAM technology changes nearly as quickly as computer architectures. RAM that worked in last year's MacBook Pros isn't compatible with 2011 models. For instructions to replace RAM, I'd check out iFixit.com for step by step instructions, although OtherWorld is pretty good about sending good instructions with the RAM they sell too.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2006 Macbook Pro 15.4" glossy screen, 2.16 ghz, 640 gb, 2 gb ram