Adder...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3/11 17" MBP 8g/500 Glossy, IPod Touch 4thgen 8gig, 32Gig Verizon 3G + WiFi IPadII
Howdy all.

Not really a switcher but an adder.

Am anticipating my first Mac, a 17" MBP that is likely over the Pacific right now enroute from Shanghai.

I'm a PC user since 1989. Not into the jihadist stuff or us vs them, I consider neither better, just different. OK, a visit to the Mac store in Reston, VA did impress me with some things that are better, starting at the start (impressive boot speed!) and the continuous comments about "you'll love it" and that a lot of things are handled for you. I can fix a lot of stuff, and MS has gotten some of the message and actually improved things XP and later (vista notwithstanding:Angry:) but sometimes I'm just not interested in maintainence and clueless dialogs (on my older machines, I have not upgraded to 7 yet but will shortly.)

Being an Access programmer, I do not anticipate ever being without a PC. I know about the dual boot, but in a sign of an open mind, I am keeping my new Mac Mac-pure. No dual boot, no MS software. I do wish to indulge a pure Mac experience in order to keep my objectivity. So, my home editions of Access will stay on the PC. If the case presented and experience are what I expect, I will likely use the Mac primarily for most everyday use, in no small part because it will also be my newest machine.

It is with the basic 2.2 processor, the quad core I7, and I bumped it up to 8g of ram. I took the remote, a copy of Bento and the glossy hi-rez. I did strongly desire a lit keyboard. I can type like the wind but still occasionally need to look. So the keyboard is eagerly anticipated since I'm a late night low light huddler. I knocked the HD back to 500 so I could get the higher RPM.