Electro Acoustic Guitar into Garageband on Macbook

Reaction score
Hi,

I am trying to use garageband learning guitar feature but am having trouble getting my macbook to recognise the guitar. I have a electro acoustic guitar plugged into the usb port on my mac using a usb guitar interface (see attached pics) I have selected the input as usb audio codec in both system preferences and within garageband and monitor is on however nothing comes out of the macs speakers when i play the guitar. Grateful if someone could suggest where i'm going wrong as I am fairly new to all this.

photo 1.JPG

photo 2.JPG

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13", 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 320GB HD, 4GB Ram, OSX 10.6.7
Your interface has a headphone jack. Have you tried that?

OP
B
Reaction score
When you say headphone Jack do you mean plugging the guitar into the headphone jack? or using the headphone jack for headphones? As i dont have any headphones which will fit to test.. but i have tried plugging the guitar into the headphone jack out of frustration.. which as expected didn't work either.. :-S

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Which version of garageband are you using?
I've had a couple of drinks and a long day, so can't help past this post for now, but with the knowledge of which version you are using, will be able to chime in tomorrow :)

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
what is your interface called and what model is it? what are you selecting as the input and output in garageband?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
With mine I have to use the headphone jack for earbuds to hear what I'm playing. Are you able to use some iPod earbuds or something? Are you able to select USB Audio CODEC as the output?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs