Web developing, Htaccess

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.4Ghz C2D, 4GB DDR3,250GB HD
Hello all, new user here, first post, but obviously not a new user to forums :D.

This question may be dumb but at the same time many people would want to know the answer. Now I know OsX tends to hide files that begins with ".". I'm a web designer beginner web designer and I have a problem. Having switched from winderz, my htaccess file cannot be seen, therefore I cannot click links on my local websites will fail to work.

Is there "any" way that the htaccess can be like given an exclusion, or maybe in xammp, apache can parse the curse thing ?

cheers guys

thanks

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Moved to proper forum and edited your title for clarity.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
It will still be read by Apache if it's hidden - the fact that you can't see it doesn't mean that Apache cannot. If you need to open it, open up a Terminal (/Applications/Utilities/) and type the following:
Code:
open -a <editor name> <location of file>
So, if I wanted to open up a file on my desktop named ".test.txt" in TextEdit, I would execute the following:
Code:
open -a TextEdit ~/Desktop/.test.txt

OP
P
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
It will still be read by Apache if it's hidden - the fact that you can't see it doesn't mean that Apache cannot. If you need to open it, open up a Terminal (/Applications/Utilities/) and type the following:
Code:
open -a <editor name> <location of file>
So, if I wanted to open up a file on my desktop named ".test.txt" in TextEdit, I would execute the following:
Code:
open -a TextEdit ~/Desktop/.test.txt

Thanks man will try that.

cheers

OP
P
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs