Old game problem

Reaction score
Hi there.

I'm relatively new to running a Mac. I used to have a Windows PC and used to play a game called Return To Castle Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory. On my Mac it played the first time after I installed it, but now, even after reinstalling, the screen just goes black when I try to play the game and I can't then do anything.

I own a MacBook Pro, Intel Core i5.

Any suggestions on how to fix this?

Thanks in advance.

OP
M
Reaction score
Just to add, I have downloaded a Mac version of the game. I'm not trying to run an Exe file.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I have it on my machine and it runs real well. Which version did you download? Because only the shareware version which has been recompiled for the Mac will run. The full version will not. And it's not an *.exe file.

Below is info for the game:

Wolf4SDL by Moritz "Ripper" Kroll (Chaos-Software)
Original Wolfenstein 3D by id Software (id Software)

Wolf4SDL is an open-source port of id Software's classic first-person shooter Wolfenstein 3D to the cross-plattform multimedia library "Simple DirectMedia Layer (SDL)" (Simple DirectMedia Layer). It is meant to keep the original feel while taking advantage of some improvements mentioned in the list below.

Reaction score
I have it on my machine and it runs real well. Which version did you download? Because only the shareware version which has been recompiled for the Mac will run. The full version will not. And it's not an *.exe file.

Below is info for the game:

Wolf4SDL by Moritz "Ripper" Kroll (Chaos-Software)
Original Wolfenstein 3D by id Software (id Software)