Website Software

Reaction score
I'm new to bulilding websites and currently use iweb to build a small site I have, looking at using Rapidweaver or Freeway...can't get my head round Dreamweaver yet, want to use WYSIWYG.

Can I simply import my Iweb into a Rapidweaver or Freeway or do I have to start again?

Reaction score
There are a number of WYSIWYG Web site building applications for the Macintosh. I can send you a list, if you like. Everyone has their favorite.

They generally break down into those that are template-based (like iWeb) or those that are free-form, such as Freeway Express (for which you can never-the-less use templates.)

If you want a template based program, I recommend RapidWeaver. It is better that iWeb in several ways. The problem with RapidWeaver and Freeway Express is that both use their own proprietary formats and export your Web page as HTML when you are done, but they can't re-import that HTML. So, if you have been using another application, like iWeb, you can't import your old page.

I highly recommend KompoZer, which is especially nice because it is FREE, and there are many free tutorials to learn how to use it.

KOMPOZER (free and open source)
http://kompozer.net/
Kompozer is a very impressive application. It is more like DreamWeaver than iWeb, but it is very easy to use. In fact, it is almost as powerful as a professional-level Web site creation tool. There are several free tutorials to learn how to use the program, and it isn't hard to learn to use. You can easily migrate your existing Web site(s) to Kompozer because it doesn't use a proprietary format, it will happily open your HTML-based Web site.

FREE KompoZer tutorials:

- KompoZer User Guide
KompoZer User Guide - Home

- How to Design and Publish Your Website with KompoZer
How to Design and Publish Your Website with KompoZer (thesitewizard.com)

- KompoZer Tutorial 2: How to Add Images, Change Fonts and Colours