nightmare with localhost

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm a web developer who's just moved over to Mac. I've been happily running XAMPP/WAMPP on Windows machines for years. I instsalled MAMPP on my Mac but I can't get any files to appear via localhost that were created on Windows machines.

Localhost itself works - I see the folder directory and pages made afresh on my Mac DO appear - it's just pages made elsewhere then imported onto my Mac that don't show up. The server response is "remote server file not found".

I've been into the folders' 'get info' areas and the file permissions seem OK. This is a headache and seems bizarrely difficult.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.1
What sort of pages where you making that you're trying to import to mac?

Are the DEFIANTLY in the right folder? ie. /Applications/MAMP/htdocs The fact that they are not showing up in that folder tree makes me think that they aren't where they should be.

What happens if you drop a page you've made on a PC into a folder in that htdocs location that you've made on you're mac? Can you see it then?

Is the Apache port set to 80?

OP
M
Reaction score
Everything is in htdocs. I have had this site working before in the same location, but I did some work on it on my work PC (Windows) then saved it on USB and put it back on my Mac, and now this problem.

In the same directory, if I make a page anew and load it up, it appears, because it was made on my Mac and not outside of it.

If I was in the wrong place completely I would be getting a different error code; this simply says the 'remote server file was not found.'

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.1
If I was in the wrong place completely I would be getting a different error code; this simply says the 'remote server file was not found.'