OSX Permissions Repair Help

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to macs so some help/advice would be much appreciated.
Just installed 10.5.6 on my mac, done the 10.5.8 combo update and now my fans are on maximum rpm continuously, then after a while mac freezes.
Only way to unfreeze is a hard shutdown/reset hold power button for 5 seconds.
After doing a permissions repair all is ok for an hour or two then it starts over again
I have a G5 powerpc 2.7 dp, 3.5 Gb Ram, 500 GB HDD. (old i no but still a very capable machine)

Thanks' for you're time input

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
This sadly sounds like it could be a logic board error.
Do you have access to Apple Hardware Test?
I would suggest running it to see what shows up, bt G5's do suffer with logic board failure and the "fans of doom" are a good indicator.

OP
P
Reaction score
Thanks Kevriano,

Do you or anyone no where can i get apple hardware test from Please

Or any other ideas thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
You should have it on your install discs>

Apple Hardware Test (AHT) contains a suite of diagnostics that will test the hardware of your computer. It's is a great way to rule out a hardware issue when troubleshooting your computer.

* For Intel-based Apple computers shipping with Mac OS X v10.5.4 or earlier, Apple Hardware Test is located on the Mac OS X Install Disc 1 and should be included with your computer.
* For Intel-based Apple computers shipping with Mac OS X v10.5.5 or later, Apple Hardware Test is located on the Applications Install Disc 2 and should be included with your computer.

Edit. Completely forgot your on G5. As Harry has said, it should have come on a disc with your original install discs.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6