Looking for PB advice

C

CoachU

Hey guys

I've been using macs for as long as I could remeber and I plan on going portable quite soon. I'm a graphic design student in my final year. I'm currently considering 2 options:

1. Buy a 15" PB.

2. Buy a 12" or 14" iBook AND a 20" Cinema Display to get more screen room at home, which would get around the same price as buying the PB.

I've read around and really don't know what to do since there seems to be a lot of rumors about PB going to be updated soon. So I'm not sure if getting one right now would be a good thing. So buying an iBook would cost me less and the Cinema Display could still be used for a while.

What do you guys think ?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.67 Ghz 17" PB w/1 GB Ram; 400 MHz PM G4, 366Mhz iBook Firewire, Nano 4GB Black
For graphic design, performance wise, the Powerbook is going to kick the butt of the iBook. It's you choice, are you willing to give up a fair amount of performance in order to get a monitor?

Check out 20" monitors in other brands, you might get a much better deal. You don't "have" to have all Apple for it to work.

There is always the computer of tomorrow. There is always an update that will happen next. Sometimes you just have to pick a time and jump on the bandwagon.

I'd go with the 15" with better graphics card and as much ram as you can afford.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
I would have to agree with rs2 get the 15" powerbook it has alot of space on the screen you don't really need the 20" on your desk because it does not do much for you when you are not at the desk... I would ssay go powerbook not only becasue of the bigger screen when you are portible but because of the more processor power and the abililty that it has.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, 8-Core 2.8Ghz, 10GB RAM, 2x1TB HDDs, iPod U2 Edition