iPad 1 release

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPod Classic 80G, iPod Touch 4th Gen 64G, iPhone 4s 64G, iPad 2 16G, MacBook Pro 13" 2.8Ghz 8G 750HD
I'm a recent Apple convert, so I'm still learning the ropes here.

When the iPad 1 came out, how did stores fare with stock early on? Was it hard to get one? Did you have to camp out infront of stores the night before to get one on release day? If you didn't get one on the release day before the store sold out, were you able to get one within the next week or so?

There have only been 3 things I've ever rushed out to get. Concert tix when I was 15, midnight release of a book where the author was doing a midnight signing party, and a Wii. Each of those experiences I had to camp out the night before. Should I anticipate the same for the iPad 2?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
The iPad 1 launch and the iPad 2 launch will be very different I suspect. First, many people have been waiting for the iPad 2 before getting an iPad and more people know what an iPad is and what it can do.

Second, Apple is not taking pre-orders for online shipping meaning the hardcore fans will be waiting in line at the stores since they can't order for delivery on launch day.

I'm not sure anyone will be able to tell you for certain what the lines will be like, if they'll be lines, or even how much stock each store would have.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2018 15" MBP, 2019 11" iPad Pro, iPhone 11 Pro