iMac taking forever to boot

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a summer 2010 iMac (8GB Ram, 3.2 i3) which I have been using for about 6 months.

Whenever I boot from an off state, the desktop comes up with a couple of minutes but then the HDD keeps accessing for about 15-20 minutes. During this time, the Mac is pretty much unusable as even opening Safari takes over a minute. After the approx. 20 minutes, everything calms down and the machine works as speedy as ever.

Coming from a PC background I am well used to windows getting bloated over time with each new application installed etc... is this the same for Mac OSX?

Is there anything I can do that will help? Defragging doesn't seem to be a part of Mac OSX.

Anyway... any information to help with my novice mac ability would be greatly received.

Regards and thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
Welcome to Mac-Forums
It certainly shouldn't be taking that long to access the HDD, usually this occurs on a dying HDD.
As it is still under Apple Care I would make an appointment at your closest Apple Store for them to look at it, they may replace/ take away for repairs.

HTH
- Simon

OP
F
Reaction score
Many thanks for the feedback.

I originally thought it may be the HDD. Weird thing is, it only 'chunters along' after the desktop has come up (which happens relatively quickly). After the 15 mins of 'chuntering' everything is fine and all disk access is as fast as ever.

It is almost like it is trying to start up lots of processes on boot.

Do Mac's do lots of system checking, looking for updates, etc on boot that coud be causing this? Maybe it is purely down the the number of apps i have installed (my 1TB HDD has about 500gb left).

Best Regards,
Matt.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb