Installing Windows 7 Upgrade Edition on a new Macbook Pro

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a recent convert to Apple after becoming more and more disillusioned with Windows for the past 10 or so years. I have ordered a shiny new 15" 2011 MBP and can't wait for it to arrive!

My issue is that I am going to need to install Windows for occassional use with certain software as well as occassional gaming. I have a legitimate copy of Windows XP (as well as ME and 98) which I am perfectly happy with - However I understand that the new Macbooks will no longer support WinXP via Bootcamp?

I am a student and have recently purchased a copy of the Windows 7 upgrade edition to rectify this, but I have now read that you cannot perform a "clean" install from the upgrade edition?

I'm afraid I am finding this all very confusing. I do own a legitimate copy of WinXP, and am eligable for the Win7 upgrade, so any help getting this installed on my new Macbook? I would hate to have to keep my ancient desktop around just for Windows, as this would defeat the object of my new purchase.

I have found the following guide;

http://www.winsupersite.com/article/windows-7/clean-install-windows-7-with-upgrade-media.aspx

Does anyone know if this will work in my case or has anyone tried on a brand new MBP?

Thanks in advace for any advice and guidance you can offer.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I have found the following guide;

http://www.winsupersite.com/article/...ade-media.aspx

Does anyone know if this will work in my case or has anyone tried on a brand new MBP?

It will work just fine. I've used it myself - follow the instructions.