if i buy a new 2011 MBP can i still upgrade the ram to 8gb later?

Reaction score
sorry for the complete noob question, i know with the 2010 model which i was originally going to get people told me to get the 4gb ram model and to just go to crucial.com and buy an 8gb kit and upgrade it myself

it would have cost only $100 or so to go the crucial route as compared to i think $400 before from apple.com? correct me if i'm wrong.. but now with the new models i see it's only $200 to upgrade to 8gb ram and save myself the hassle (although the installation videos on utube made it look pretty easy). should i pay the 200 and have apple do it for me or should i (if i could) go the crucial route? thanks guys, my birthday is next week and this is kind of my present to myself :p

Reaction score
Ram is a piece of cake to install. Save the $100. Worst case scenario, you can take the MBP to an Apple Store or an AASP and have them install it if you're not comfortable. There's not reason at all that you 'have' to get the 8GB at the time of purchase.

OP
B
Reaction score
thanks ! i will definitely take your advice, i think what i meant to include in that question was does the new models restrict u from opening it up and installing extra ram?

oh another important question i had... does that void the warranty? opening up your MBP and installing RAM? god i hope not

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
The upside to letting Apple do it is its covered under their waranty and you don't have to
open it back up and install the original ram before taking it in for repair should that happen the downside it is 100.00 dollars higher and you could have put that towards something else but you have to mess with two warranties one from Apple and one from
the ram mfg should a failure happen. Although I personally have had great luck with Crucial. If you are going to purchase Apple Care I would let them do it IMHO.

OP
B