Macbook PRO 13 runs slow when connected with ethernet cable

Reaction score
I'm a programmer using all can give me money :) So i work on uindos, linuz, and, obviously, OsX. I'm not a kid and I saw the birth of the Apple II.

But...

One month ago I bought a Mcbook pro 13" 2010.

First, wifi connection runs slow. Searching on the net I have found some solution. I have changed dns in my routers (!) and now wifi speed is good. I dont know why but works.

Second... If I connect ethernet cable to McBook everything is going very slowly and system becomes unusable. With external mouse connected (a standard USB mouse) the problem does not arise (!). Disconnecting cable all works fine.

[update]
Only cursor, if moved with touchpad, moves slowly and is not usable.
[/update]

I tried to change manually interface settings (network > advanced > configuration | manual > speed | 100baseTX > duplex | full-duplex), according some forum, but without solving. Plugging ethernet connector in my Mac system becomes slow and unusable.

Here there is a small lan with 3Com hardware: two routers (we have two ADSL connections, same provider but differents types), three switches, high quality cables; a dozen of computers, three or four printers, some shared device like NAS and servers. All works fine also with other Macs.

I have reinstalled ad (re)upgraded OS, obtain a flat factory installation without any non original application. But problem remains.

Any idea?

Thanks a lot

doc

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MB Pro/ 2.4GHZ / 2GB
Heres what I would do. Test the Mac with a different ethernet cable that is cat6. Even if yours is cat6 still try the cable. If it works it's the cable.

If that didn't work take it to the office or another place with a router and plug it in using their cable and setup. If that works then it is most likely a router/modem issue.

If that still has issues take it to the apple store asap and let them diagnose the issue.

OP
doc.tmn
Reaction score