Cloning a Mac drive to use in another Mac

Reaction score
Greetings,

My background is desktop support/helpdesk at a company with many windows boxes but only 7 Mac. Learning Macs not I"m like a noob still.

> I configure a PC with the applications I want and tweak settings needed
> User an app like Ghost to clone the drive
> Apply the close the to other machines of same model
> Deploy machine to new user or
> Apply the clone to a machine with severe OS issues

I can even apply the close to similar model machines and after the boot up install the drivers

I would like to do something similar.
>Configure a Mac
>Install all the apps
>Clone the drive
>Apply the close to another Macs (intel Based)

I have googled, however, I get result that say yes I can do it and no because once the Mac starts up it will have issues because the clone was taken from another Mac. I've asked other techs and also get mixed results.

I'm thinking that if I use the newest Mac (intel based) and apply it to any other Macs that are over (intel based) the drivers would install and it would function fine.

I don't mind experimenting but setting up a Mac with CS4/CS5 and other apps take forever.

Is there a way for me to accomplish that I can do in a windows environment?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You can not clone the contents of one model Mac to another model Mac which is different because the hardware is not the same. You'll wind up getting kernel panics (Mac version of BSOD) and it won't work.

There is however, software to do cloning. SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner are the most popular. They are not like Ghost or Acronis True Image though and will only work on drives formatted as HFS+. (To be used for cloning same model Macs only)

OP
L
Reaction score
Sorry I forgot to add that I use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the Mac HD.

Dang, this makes my job more difficult.