To all Mac experts, please help!

H

HareshKainth

Hello everyone, Im in the mist of buying my first Apple Mac G5 machine and two iBook G4.

I dont have much experience with the Mac OS X software because I've only used PC's for the most of my days.

Im a student at the University of Derby, United Kingdom. And in my final year, I've decided to make software that would run on both platforms (Windows and Apple).

At home I run a Windows network, two servers running Window 2003 (one of these servers is a dedicated hardware firewall running Microsoft ISA 2004 and the other Server runs the Active Directory, DNS, DHCP, Media and File service).

I have three Windows XP client machines. Im considering replacing two of my client machines with Apple iBook G4.

Will Mac OS X work well with Microsoft technolgies mainly Active Directory? Would there be major problems? Does Mac OS X have different internet requirements such as TCP ports etc...

Plus Im a musician, Ive been using my PC based system (DAW) to record my music, although Im very happy with the PC, could I get a better result with an Apple Mac solution?

I also develop websites and web based technologies that work for Windows based machines, could i still achieve this using an Apple Mac solution.

I feel that if Im able to develop applications on more than one platform (other than Windows) I could achieve greater understanding and appriecation for other platforms.

I would be ever so grateful if someone could help me on this, my budget is around <= £4000 is this sufficent?

I would like to add an Apple Mac solution to my network and to develop applications for both platforms.

I enjoy using Windows based machines, in which i get great performance, realiability and ease of use, I upgrade my network several times a year just to keep up with software requirements, with an Apple Mac solution, would it be mandatory to upgrade due to new Apple Mac software?