Macbook Pro - buy now or wait?

Reaction score
Hello,
Im just about to join the world of apple by buying my first macbook pro.
Right now im looking at buying a 15" 2.66GHz intel core i7

Im still a little hesitant about buying it. Should I buy it now,
or will i get a better deal if i wait until september (back to school deals)?
I think they threw in a free itouch last year with a notebook purchase.

secondly, should i be getting any of the extras? is it worth it?
- more memory
- solid state hard drive
- applecare protection plan

I am a university student studying multi-media design.
I use a lot of programs like adobe and 3d rendering software.

price isn't so much an issue for me at the moment.
I've been saving up for the past 2 years and really want to
invest in a good macbook pro to do my design and graphic work
off of professionally.

Thanks in advance for you help. :)

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
If you can wait then wait. If you need it now...then get one now.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Welcome to M-F jclui

There are rumours (and that is all they are) the the new MBP is coming out shortly. Have a look at This thread concerning that.

secondly, should i be getting any of the extras? is it worth it?
- more memory
- solid state hard drive
- applecare protection plan

Memory ~ If you are doing 3D rendering then the more RAM the better. Have a look at OWC ~ MacSales for good reliable cheap RAM. Great company and reliable. They test all hardware on Mac's so we know it will work. Dont get it from Apple.