Temporary files

Reaction score
I'm new to Mac so maybe a naive question. On my old PC, I allowed temporary files to build up and got to a point where it was a massive job to work through them and delete them. I am determined not to allow this to happen now, but where do I start? I can find no 'disc clean-up' facility andf I want to keep on top of things.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Your Mac pretty much maintains itself. It will run scripts that automatically purge caches and temp files if you let it run overnight. If you'd feel more comfortable running maintenance manually, check out:

Apple - Downloads - System/Disk Utilities - OnyX

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks cwa - "run scripts that automatically purge caches and temp files if you let it run overnight" - can you explain that more fully perhaps - for a simple pensioner.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPad Pro 12.9 latest iOS
The OS X Operating system comes with 3 maintenance scripts called Daily - Weekly - Monthly and they perform basic maintenance tasks for the operating system.
They run automatically and they will take care of temporary files, cache etc.
They are also known as ' cron ' jobs ( Don't ask me where that name comes from, but I guess it is a Unix thing )

The Onyx application can be used when more in depth maintenance tasks are required.
I run Onyx like 3 times a year maximum.

if you download Onyx, make sure you select the correct version for your operating system.

If you have more questions ... ask away..... and enjoy your Mac.

Cheers ... McBie

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Agreed with McBie. Your Mac will not require anywhere near the amount of maintenance we put into keeping our Windows machines running smoothly.