Not enough ram to install Snow Leopard...how do I get back to Tiger?

Reaction score
Ok couple years ago, my husband and I bought a Macbook from a friend. I don't recall getting the discs from him. I recently bought the Snow Leopard upgrade because I couldn't update my itunes and iphone. I was really excited. I am not really tech savvy and don't know much about hardware, etc. So I go to install the SL and it says I don't have enough ram. I hardly have anything on my Mac, so I was surprised. Anyway, now I can't do anything. It's stuck on this screen. It gives me an option to restore from back-up. But when I click on that, there are no options. Any suggestions/help please and thank you!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
If you need to reinstall Tiger but don't have the disks, you'll need to call Apple and you can purchase some replacement restore disks for your machine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MacBook Pro 2.26, 4gb RAM, 500gb HD
Macbook RAM is cheap. Why not buy more memory instead of buying replacement disks?

OP
K
Reaction score
Macbook RAM is cheap. Why not buy more memory instead of buying replacement disks?

Yeah I have no problem doing that...was planning on it actually. But how would I install it without getting back to any operating system? As I said before, I'm not tech savvy at all.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Yeah I have no problem doing that...was planning on it actually. But how would I install it without getting back to any operating system? As I said before, I'm not tech savvy at all.

ifixit.com
will have step by step instructions on how to install the RAM. Upgrading the RAM is completely independent of the operating system install BTW.

OP
K
Reaction score
ifixit.com