Brand New mac slow and crashing

Reaction score
I have had my mac mini 2010 2.4ghz 2gb ram latest osx and updated software

The first thing to surprise me was the slow start up, a few minutes

doing the same things i did on my 1gb netbook without problems is causing my mac to freeze, having to force quit or losing work in pages

incredibly frustrating as i am a writer which was my reason for upgrading

on my 1gb netbook i was able to listen to music, browse, run gimp and open office at same time without slow down or problems

on this i am running just pages and copying a jpeg into it is causing it to quit, after one image, on my netbook i did this with large tiff files one after another until the file size was over 3gig in open office and no problems

safari shows spinning wheel and freezes constantly

i havent installed or changed anything other than gimp and open office, they seem to work fine albeit slower than on my old netbook

ran disk permissions, checked drive, 240 gb hard drive free

cant undertsnad why it should be so slow, quite upsetting really as i didnt expect it after reading about macs, surely it isnt the ram if i was on 1gb prior on a low spec netbook?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
If it is still under Apple Care I would recommend taking it to your nearest Apple Store to get it fixed/ replaced.

- Simon

OP
A
Reaction score
i dont have applecare or a nearby store, it was bought from a catalogue, surprised its that drastic.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
If you purchased it new and less than twelve months ago take it to an Apple reseller.

Reaction score
If you're not just trolling and actually being honest, something is definitely wrong with your new Mac. Perhaps it's a faulty hard drive or bad RAM? It should not under any circumstances run that way.

OP
A
Reaction score