Wireless Printing from Mac or PC?

Reaction score
I am not very technical and have had my iMac for almost a year now. I have an HP LaserJet P1006 connected to the iMac. My daughter uses a laptop in another part of the house. We do have wireless internet using a NetGear WNR1000 wireless router, which is also connected to the iMac (or to the modem which is connected to the iMac). Is there a way to print wirelessly from the Windows laptop (I think she has Vista) to the HP printer connected to the iMac?

Cheryl

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
OP
C
Reaction score
It works! At first I thought it didn't as I got a print error, but then as I was looking further I saw it now had two choices for this printer (the one I had when I physically switched the printer cable from the iMac to the laptop and the new one which has a different printer name). I tried selecting the new printer name and it printed! I am so excited! Thanks so much for your help!

Cheryl

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
You're welcome, glad it worked for you!

OP
C
Reaction score
Ok wait...

It worked on this old Dell laptop that I used as my test (since it's currently sitting right next to the iMac), but when I went downstairs to try it on my daughter's Toshiba laptop, it isn't finding the printer.

I ran the Bonjour application on the laptop and it put the wizard icon on the desktop. I ran the wizard, but nothing shows up. Any suggestions on what I would do now? I am on the iMac right now and have verified that my preferences show that "Share this printer on the network" is selected.

Cheryl

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Have you restarted the Toshiba since you installed the Bonjour wizard? Sometimes that does the trick. If it works on the Dell, then the printer is sharing correctly.

OP
C
Reaction score
Oh, no I didn't. I'll go back down and try that now... be back in a few (she has alot of stuff open that I'll have to close out!)

Chery