Dynex usb hub

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 13" (Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM) running OSX 10.5.8
I just bought this Dynex 4-port usb hub and it won't work with my macbook. it says nothing about being mac compatible on the packaging, but I didn't think to look at that when I bought it. I thought compatibility was a software issue, not really a hardware one :/ I'm an amateur, what can I say. Anyway, is there a way this hub will work for my macbook?

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
why wont it work, what are you plugging into it? can you see it in system profiler? (apple menu, about this mac, more info, USB? (what do you see in this directory, Each disclosure triangle with USB Bus next to them is a USB port on your computer))

is it a powered hub? if not are you trying to use a bus powered drive with it?

most USB hardware works on a mac without an issue. if its not coming up it is most likely faulty.

OP
J
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sorry it took me to long to get back to you! I appreciate the help

So my system profiler indicates my computer is recognizing the two peripherals I have plugged in to the hub: An Mbox2mini and a LaCie 1TB external drive. I also recognizes the 2 empty ports corresponding to the hub...But I can't use or access these peripherals! the Mbox isn't getting power and the external is not visible.

Picture 1.png

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
okay, i am a pro tools user too, and one thing i would definitely not advise is plugging your mbox into a hub. it will just cause problems.

again, is this a powered hub? if not, this will be why your drive is not visible.

OP
J
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I think it's a powered hub. It lights up when plugged into the port. But even if it isn't, I have an adapter to plug it in (which I've tried, to no avail)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs