Using TM to backup to an USB HD through a NAS

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24"
Hello,

Bear with me as I am new to Macs and have no clue how to search if this has been asked in here before...even a google search yielded broad options.

I have a MBP that I want to backup via wireless using TM. I have a spare 2TB Western Digital that I want to connect to a QNAP NAS via USB. Can TM be configured to backup to the 2TB HD without using any of the drives on the NAS? I do not want to add this 2TB capacity to my existing 6TB that I physically have on the NAS itself. Again, I just want the data in my MBP to go wirelessly to the 2tb connected to the NAS.

I hope that makes sense. Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 Mac mini and 2010 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 4 and iPad
I am doing this exact same thing only I have a Synology disk station and a 2.5 portable hard drive attached with usb to the NAS. It works fine for me. I dont know how you go about setting it up on the Qnap system but if it allows time machine backups you should be able to select the usb drive attached to the nas as the drive you want the backup to go to inside of the Qnap system. Then when you setup time machine you should see the drive thats attached to the nas available to backup to.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
The cool part about this whole setup is now you have a TM backup you can take with you and saves alot of headache trying to restore the mac over the network

OP
R
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24"
thanks for the fast reply LB! I will dive deeper into the NAS and see if that is possible.

OP
R
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24"
The cool part about this whole setup is now you have a TM backup you can take with you and saves alot of headache trying to restore the mac over the network

So you are saying you can disconnect your usb drive from the nas and plug directly to the Mac and restore? That sounds great.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs