Re Installing OSX need help

Reaction score
I have a slowly failing start up disk so I am going to use one of my HDs as the new start up. The drive I want to use is in slot 3 so do I need to move that into the first (0,0) port?

If I move my failing start up disk into another slot will I be able to access that drive in case I want to remove files from it?

Some of the files have been corrupted due to the bad sectors, and I have some critical video files...Is there any applications I can use to uncorrupt them? I don't think its the actually files that are corrupt but the sectors it happens to b on the hard drive. Like any data recovery Apps perhaps.

Also this is my first time ever doing this kind of work...If anyone has any general advice about reinstalling I would totally appreciate it. LIke if there is any precautionary measures I need to take. Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I'm not familiar with the drive bay setup on a Mac Pro so I'll let one of our Mac Pro guys answer that for you.

As far as extracting data and files from a defective drive you can give software a try. Data Rescue 3 from Prosoft is about as good as it gets for doing that. It's a bit pricey at $99 but they do have a trial version you can download and test with.

As far as reinstalling OS X goes, it's a fairly simple process provided you have your original install DVD media on hand. It's always best to do an archive and reinstall - which Snow Leopard will do automatically. If you're using Leopard, you'll have to specify. The archive and reinstall process will save your data and other settings to a separate folder during the reinstall so that you can access the data from the new installation.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6