Programming Noob in need of help!

Reaction score
Hey guys,
As you can see from the title I am new to this whole idea of programming. I have just started the basics in college on how to write and run code. Currently in college we are using Smultron to write the code.
I wanted to be able to work on coding at home and as a result I have downloaded Smultron to my MBP... the problem now is that it wont work.

I created a file today and then went into Terminal to try and run it... We were told to type "make (project name)" and enter that but when I do that it says
"make: *** No rule to make target `practical1'. Stop."

I have downloaded xCode already so I don't that is the problem.

Can someone tell me how to get the make command to work???

*Go easy on me... It's my first day!* lol

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Not sure (not a C/C++ person here) but check your Makefile for any errors. That might be a good place to start. Other than that, I'll have to let the C/C++ developers here step in.

OP
G
Reaction score
Not sure (not a C/C++ person here) but check your Makefile for any errors. That might be a good place to start. Other than that, I'll have to let the C/C++ developers here step in.

Ohhh that could be a problem... How do I create a makefile?

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
The make tool only works if you have a makefile. I'm sure there are many tutorials online on how to write makefiles. Surely your professor has/will cover(ed) this.

OP
G
Reaction score
Surely your professor has/will cover(ed) this.

Well no... We work in the labs in university which have already been set-up. I wanted to work on questions at home as well so that I can improve at a faster rate.
I will look up some tutorials now for the makefile creation.

OP
G
Reaction score
Thanks for all you help.