Need advice on buy a Mac Laptop. I'm new to Macs

Reaction score
Ok, so I am looking to write an iPhone app so I need a Mac. I went on eBay and I found a ton of Macbooks going for $250-$400.

What is a decent Macbook?

Just looking for some input from you guys on what is a good Mac for a decent price. There are so many out there that I am not sure.

Thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Depends on exactly what you plan on doing on it. If all you're really doing on a computer is surfing the internet & checking e-mail...then one of the older MacBooks for $250-$400 will get the job done just fine.

I know that you said that you wanted to do some Macintosh "app." development...but that depends on what applications you need to run to do that.

- Nick

OP
J
Reaction score
Depends on exactly what you plan on doing on it. If all you're really doing on a computer is surfing the internet & checking e-mail...then one of the older MacBooks for $250-$400 will get the job done just fine.

I know that you said that you wanted to do some Macintosh "app." development...but that depends on what applications you need to run to do that.

- Nick

Umm, I need to download the apple sdk and run xcode. I was reading that it has to have leopard 10.0 and have an intel processor.

Thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Umm, I need to download the apple sdk and run xcode. I was reading that it has to have leopard 10.0 and have an intel processor.

Thanks.

Ummm...Leopard is not 10.0...but 10.5 (latest version 10.5.8)...and the absolute latest OS version is 10.6.6.

All Macintosh computers sold since mid-2006 have Intel processors. If you know the applications that you need to run to develop Macintosh apps...then just research what the system requirements are each of those applications (Apple SDK & X-Code)...and then buy a computer that meets or exceeds the system requirements.

HTH,

- Nick

OP