Ideas for "Cloud" backups?

Reaction score
Hi,
Does anyone have ideas for online backups for OS vs external hardrives (Minimum 100GB)??. I have been investigating google gDisk a little bit but it does'nt seem as enough storage space.

(Im not a Mac expert, so please reply in "readable language" :))

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I'd probably look at Carbonite if I were to consider it. $130 - 3year - unlimited backup

Find some reviews and start reading though.

These are in no way near as convenient as having a bootable backup and imho should only be considered over and above a local backup.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPad Pro 12.9 latest iOS
Most important thing in " Cloud based " is the privacy and availability of your data.
Current agreements do not handle that very well.

You won't know in which country your data will be stored ( and associated legal implications ) and you have no guarantee on the availability of your data ( It is the internet after all, owned by ..... nobody )
All agreements are " gentlemen's agreements " or are " best effort ".

In fact, when you sign up, you don't even know who you are talking to.

Unless you accept the risk of all your data ending up on the evening news, I suggest to be very carefull with trusting the cloud.

Cheers ... McBie

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Unless you accept the risk of all your data ending up on the evening news, I suggest to be very carefull with trusting the cloud.

Good point. And another consideration: What happens to your data when your "cloud" storage company goes out of business?

These are in no way near as convenient as having a bootable backup and imho should only be considered over and above a local backup.

Amen.

C

chas_m