switching with a lot of windows only apps?

Reaction score
I am looking at buying my first mac.

I consider myself pretty good at computers. I have never used a mac but I was a system administrator for about 100 pc's and a dozen unix machines when I was in college about 8 yrs ago.

At my current job (self employed) I use several industry specific programs that are windows only. These programs are not popular, are very targeted towards a small group of users I know there is no mac alternative. I have read there is parallels and vmware to run any windows app in a emulator so i know a mac could run them.

Here is how my computer use breaks down:

3-4 hours a day of the specialed windows apps (probably over 50% of my computer time)
email
quickbooks
quicken
web browsing
word
excel
itunes
pdfs

I know the mac will natively do everything else in the list but since over half my time is with wiindows only apps does it make sense to switch to a mac? I hear that the mac's generally outperform pc's but how does running a windows app in a emulator window on a mac compare to running on a native windows machine? Some of my programs are pretty CPU intensive. One in particular you set up and it takes several hours to process on my HP DV7 (i7 with 6 gb ram).

Reaction score
Considering that over 50% of your use requires Windows in some way (Parallels and VMWare run full installations of Windows, not just the app itself), and that MS Office as well as Quicken are better on Windows (IMHO), I'd personally suggest you go with a good Windows 7 PC.

If your profession depends on it, go with what best fits it. On the other hand, I'd be interested in hearing why you want to switch to a Mac?