Apple student discount

Reaction score
I know that you can receive a discount on their official website, but do they offer the discount in the retail stores?

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Yes. You will need your student ID.

What I have done, since my wife is the one with the ID, is log into her University account there in the store - making sure it does not save the password.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2006 Macbook Pro 15.4" glossy screen, 2.16 ghz, 640 gb, 2 gb ram
They're making you show proof of studenthood now? They offer the same discount to teachers. When I ordered my MBP in 2006 I did it over the phone and just told them I was a teacher and they gave me the discount (BTW, I really am a teacher).

When my sister bought her powerbook G4 some 6 years ago she talked to the customer service rep and asked, "My brother is a teacher. Can I have him call in and order the computer for me so I can get the discount?" The rep told her not to bother and he went ahead and gave her the discount.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2009 27" iMac 2.8GHz i7 8GB Ram | Mid 2007 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz 4 GB Ram | iPhone 4s | iPad 3
Ordered mine on the internet with student discount, I wasn't a student at the time. From what I understand, apple gets a tax break for offering the discount so they don't really care.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
They're making you show proof of studenthood now? They offer the same discount to teachers. When I ordered my MBP in 2006 I did it over the phone and just told them I was a teacher and they gave me the discount (BTW, I really am a teacher).