Bootcamp or Parallel for Graphic design?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro, 4GB RAM (1033), i7 core, 520mb graphic card
Hi,

I've recently purchased a MacBook Pro 15in, 4 GB RAM.

I plan to do 2D graphic design (Photoshop, Illustrator), using OSX, and 3D design (3ds max) with Windows 7.

Now, my question is: Should I consider using bootcamp or Parallel?

My concern is that with parallel Desktop, my 4GB of RAM would be split between the 2 OS, decreasing my softwares' performances a lot.

I am still pretty new to the Mac environment, so I would appreciate a lot if someone could shed light on this.

Thanks!

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
The advantages of Parallels, VMWare Fusion or VirtualBox is that you can access your Mac programs at the same time as the Windows applications inside the VM. But as you noted, you'll be limiting your memory to both Windows and Mac since they'll be shared..

Depending on how intensive you get you might be able to live with the limitations, but if that doesn't pan out, you'll have to boot camp and dual-boot OS X and Windows. The downsides of this are pretty clear, in that, you will need to reboot to go from one OS to the other..

You can always grab the free VirtualBox and if you already have a copy of Windows and the 3DS Max, try it out right now to see how everything works in the VM..

Regards

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro, 4GB RAM (1033), i7 core, 520mb graphic card
Thanks for the quick reply.

Do you think I could setup Bootcamp first, and the, when I'm ready to
upgrade to 8GB RAM, I install Parallel Desktop instead? Is that feasible without
formatting the drive?

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA